The Things That People Call Poetry

As a reluctantly published poet I find it to be very interesting to see the word in use by non-poets.  Or maybe, I should say those that I don’t consider to be poets.  It’s not about being published, that is not what makes a poet.  Being good with words, is.

I’ve had tons of people tell me that they really never liked poetry until they read something I wrote.  Or that they hate most poetry, but they really like my stuff.  I’ve had people ask me to read their poems, and ask me what I think.  Of course as a poet, I’ve read and critiqued many other poems that I did not write.

But fairly often I see words typed somewhere that people consider poetry and I am confused.  Putting words on a page and then pressing enter instead of letting it go all the way across the screen, isn’t writing poetry.  Writing lots of rhyming words together isn’t poetry.  But what is poetry?  What is poetry to you?

What Chu Say?

